A practical question about meditation and studying

A place for anything that doesn't fit into the existing forums

A practical question about meditation and studying

Postby Lazypoet » Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:22 pm

So, here goes another ramble.

I'm studying the french language, exams is coming up. I feel like language learning is a mind based thing, like you will systemise words and conjugations in a mind net, if you know what I mean.

Also the study is quite far away so I take the train every day 40 minutes. Anyway I feel a bit lost in stress, and when I meditate I somehow fear that it will make me passive and that I won't study as hard. Meaning that if I meditate I will sink down into a very peaceful state and not get things done.

Is that a correct assumption,

And is this a topic somehow not talked about, when should one NOT meditate?

Maybe people are missing out on productivity because they sink so low down into themselves that they are just happy and peaceful,

and meanwhile their work remains untouched?
Lazypoet

Re: A practical question about meditation and studying

Postby Webwanderer » Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:22 pm

Meditation is key to alignment through stilling the mind. But it is also a vehicle for contemplation. The subject of that contemplation is a matter of choice. Well ideally. Conditioning and emotional energy can have its own agenda. But lets not get sidetracked off your original question.

When in meditation, you can energize certain behaviors - like study or work, or most anything else. If you imagine yourself enjoying study, being successful at study, you will energize your fundamental inclination to do so. If on the other hand, you meditate and focus on the fear of becoming complacent, you will energize that and create the inclination to be complacent. (Aside: You are not actually doing the energizing, but rather creating the template through which natural life energy flows.)