Cultivating a taste for reality

A place for anything that doesn't fit into the existing forums

Cultivating a taste for reality

Postby rachMiel » Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:18 pm

"I'm not very good at reality." - Aunt Jean

For those who live largely in their heads, reality (actuality, what is) can be a bitter pill to swallow.

The inner narration, the movie with self as central heroic or tragic character around whom everything revolves is just SO compelling and deeply engrained. Reality often just serves as a backdrop, a setting in which the action unfolds.

The move to presence, a conscious dwelling in here/now reality, can be very difficult for these kinds of people. It's a whole different ballgame, to simply be with what is. It can feel boring and meaningless. A taste for reality needs to be cultivated.
Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily ...
rachMiel

Re: Cultivating a taste for reality

Postby EnterZenFromThere » Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:30 pm

Cultivated by whom?

:shock:
EnterZenFromThere

Postby Webwanderer » Tue Jun 09, 2015 10:11 pm

EnterZenFromThere wrote:Cultivated by whom?

May I suggest - the perceiver of experience.

That said, reality is as much about perception through the eyes of one's beliefs as it is about present conditions and focus of attention - unless of course one includes beliefs in those conditions. Reality is more related to experience than than it is to conditions present. After all what is real other than experience?

WW
Webwanderer

Postby rachMiel » Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:47 am

EnterZenFromThere wrote:Cultivated by whom?

By that which sees that reality can be a bitter pill to swallow.
rachMiel

Postby rachMiel » Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:58 am

Webwanderer wrote:Reality is more related to experience than it is to conditions present. After all what is real other than experience?