Vedanta Study at a Distance

A place for anything that doesn't fit into the existing forums

Vedanta Study at a Distance

Postby tjansen » Sat Jun 04, 2016 1:05 pm

Hello, I am new to this forum. I would like to know people's experience with methods of studying Vedanta, especially if you feel that it is moving you toward your goal, which for me would be to become solidly ensconced in the knowledge of reality, which I have heard called liberation or (obviously?) Enlightenment.

One avenue I ran across is a home study course by email from Chinmayananda Mission. I wonder if anyone on this forum has used this approach and what the result was.

I am currently studying video programs by James Swartz that 'unfold' the teaching. I correspond by email with one of his proteges when I have questions about what I viewed. It seems to be a good introduction to the subject. dijmart's mention of James's website (on a different forum?) is what brought me to this forum.

I also use The Light of Pure Knowing CD set by Rupert Spira for doing guided meditation, which he recommends for people who know reality (I can't say that I fit that category), but whose bodies, feelings, etc. haven't been "colonized" with the understanding. I also have attended a couple of his webinars, one of which is coming up on June 4.

In all of this, I am looking for a 'program' to follow. Being a veteran of AA, I like to do step 1, step 2, ..........step 12, and boom you are there. I really enjoy Rupert's teaching, and continued searching for something else because I didn't detect a programmed approach from him.

Thanks for any suggestions.
tjansen
tjansen

Re: Vedanta Study at a Distance

Postby runstrails » Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:33 am

Hi Tjansen,
Welcome to the forum. ENjoy your time here. Regarding the Chinamayananda home study course---you might have more luck posting about it on the Forum at the Shining Word website (James Swartz' website). rt
runstrails

Postby dijmart » Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:45 pm