"Nothing is stronger than emotions."

A place for anything that doesn't fit into the existing forums

"Nothing is stronger than emotions."

Postby rachMiel » Thu Feb 09, 2017 4:59 am

A very sweet and wise woman I studied with for many years once said this to me. At the time I didn't really buy it. But more and more I can see that, for myself at least, it's so true. A really big emotion can feel as huge as the universe.
Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily ...
rachMiel

Re: "Nothing is stronger than emotions."

Postby rachMiel » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:56 pm

I'm not really trying to make a point here. I'm just expressing my astonishment at how powerful an emotion can be. It can be everything, a 10+ on the Psycho-Richter scale. Where does that energy come from ... where does it go?
rachMiel

Postby Enlightened2B » Fri Feb 10, 2017 11:55 pm

Psycho Richter scale. Well that's a new one. So, that's how they (I would presume) measure the emotional energy of an Earthquake.
Enlightened2B

Postby rachMiel » Sat Feb 11, 2017 12:03 am

Of an earthquake happening inside someone, yes. ;-)
rachMiel

Postby DavidB » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:58 pm

Sometimes I tend to believe that the main reason for human existence, is to foster emotional maturity.
“Wisdom is knowing I am nothing, Love is knowing I am everything, and between the two my life moves.” ― Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj
DavidB

Postby rachMiel » Sun Feb 12, 2017 12:14 am

Non-duality teachers often say that consciousness is boundless, infinite. That's how I feel about a strong emotion: It fills everything. Emotion is clearly (an expression of) consciousness, yes?
rachMiel

Postby Onceler » Sun Feb 12, 2017 12:16 am

Sometimes subtle emotions can be more powerful than anger, no?
Be present, be pleasant.
Onceler

Postby dijmart » Sun Feb 12, 2017 3:32 am