Traditional Christianity

A place for anything that doesn't fit into the existing forums

Traditional Christianity

Postby YUDoodat » Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:38 am

I am new to Eckhart Tolle, but not his teachings. Years ago I was deeply into the new-age movement, and read up on many different disciplines in my endeavors to assimilate truth and bring it into context in my life.

However, from my current individual 'fundamentalist Christian' point of view, I experience extreme cognitive dissonance when I try to understand certain of Eckhart's teachings in regard to the Bible and the teachings of Jesus. Granted, Jesus' teachings are parabolic and seem to mesh beautifully on certain deeper levels with Eckhart's teachings. And I have not come across anything anywhere (Christian or not) that illumines the workings and motivation of the ego as well as Eckhart does in 'A New Earth'. I see his 'ego' as Paul describes the 'old' or 'carnal man' in the King James version of the Bible.

My main concern is the way Jesus referred to himself as the 'only way to the Father'. Also, he is referred to as King of Kings (we might say, King of Masters) and Lord of Lords. And that "every knee shall bow, and every tongue shall confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father."

The Bible additionally claims that Jesus was born of a virgin, which further sets him apart as "the only begotten Son of God", if this statement is literally true, as I believe it is. And since he overcame "the world" by never yielding to 'sin' through faith, his claim that "no one comes to the Father, but by me" seems to exclude attainment of "salvation" apart from exclusive association with his own sacrifice of himself on the cross.