Supressing Emotions and being more Conscious

A place for anything that doesn't fit into the existing forums
lupin_

Supressing Emotions and being more Conscious

Post by lupin_ » Wed Dec 19, 2007 4:59 pm

I'm a student studying in college right now and last night I received my results for the semester that had just finished. Unfortunately my results weren't that great, one subject I failed by 1 point and another I failed by a fairly large margin. In the past I would have looked at the results and thought about day and night with constant emotions that fluctuates between anger and sadness. But having read The PON I realized the states I would have ventured into and knowing that they are negative, I blocked out the emotion by being more "conscious". When I'm more "conscious" I didn't think about my results , in fact when I'm more conscious it's hard to describe but it's sort of like a feeling knowing that it's something that transcends the mind but what i found weird was that whenever i refocused my thinking patterns upon my semester results again I would be feeling the negative emotions. At this point I wasn't really sure If i should continue to become more "conscious", I mean could it be possible that if I continue to become more "conscious" that I am just suppressing my emotions? The emotions are still there if i dwell on it and I have choice to dwell on them or not but what I'm afraid is, could there be a negative effect upon my psyche if i keep suppressing my emotions by being more conscious? What will be the long term effects be if i keep doing this? Is it safe?

So that's my story, what do you guys think I should do? Did i make a mistake somewhere?

D'ray

Re: Supressing Emotions and being more Conscious

Post by D'ray » Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:21 pm

I agree on this. But I'm speakless about this subject. In the past if I got bad grades I usually studied much harder to the next tests to get better grades.