death of ego and depression

Topics related to physical, emotional and psychological forms of pain and suffering

death of ego and depression

Postby FrequencyHolder » Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:36 am

Hello all. This is my first post here. I have been reading posts on the forum for a while now, but haven't had the courage to post.

Seems I'm encountering some, er, issues on my path here.

After reading A New Earth, I have come to realize that nearly all of the critical decisions in my life have been made in the grips of ego. I realize the disaster these unconscious decisions have caused in my life. I'm currently unemployed and am in desperate need of a job, but I'm having a hard time living day to day life without the presence of ego. It's as though I've lost the primary motivating force in my life, and now I'm now I'm just sort of, well, stuck. Maybe this sounds strange. I'm new to this, so please bear with me.

I'm finding it harder and harder to live in a largely unconscious world. I realize every friendship/relationship I've ever had was egoic. I feel very alone and strange in this world. I have little motivation to do much of anything----even leave the house. The funny thing is-----I'm okay with that----but everyone else in the world is not. I'm okay with being somewhat of a hermit and recluse, and not really 'doing much with my life' (according to everyone else's standards of what 'doing something with your life' is).

It's really become quite trying lately. My ego flares up, and I question whether I've made correct decisions, what to do now, and how to proceed without the ego----I truly have few, if any, interests where there is no ego involved. Anyway, I apologize if this thread sounds crazy.
FrequencyHolder

Re: death of ego and depression

Postby weopposedeception » Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:08 am