Self-realization and work in development aid

Forum rules
In this category please do not start new topics that aren't directly related to Awakening / Spiritual Enlightenment / Truth-Realization.
Melkmeisje

Self-realization and work in development aid

Post by Melkmeisje » Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:29 am

Hi everybody,

It has been a while since I posted here, but I feel I'm on a crossroad and I would love to have some guidance on this topic...

As long as I can remember, I always wanted to help 'poor' people in development countries. As a child, I was planning to become a famous actress so that I could give all my money to poor children in Africa and later on I studied development studies and lived for different time-periods in South America. A few years ago I permanently moved to South America to live with my boyfriend (now husband) and since then I've worked in different development projects. Although on paper they were my 'dreamjobs' and I often did like the work itself, at the same time it caused me a lot of energy and stress due to long working hours (working extra time is often expected and also necessary in order to meet the deadlines) and long hours in traffic. Although I have the luxury to live just outside a capital city in a little village with a big garden, this also means that in rush-hour it takes around 2 to sometimes even 3 hours to get to the office. Also the capital itself feels like a very energy absorbing place, especially during rush-hour when millions of inhabitants are stuck in traffic on their way to work. During the week, I was often very tired and I felt I did not have a life besides work, since the moment I got home I had to go to sleep again in order to wake up early for work.