San do kai, Identity of relative and absolute.

Forum rules
In this category please do not start new topics that aren't directly related to Awakening / Spiritual Enlightenment / Truth-Realization.
Mason

San do kai, Identity of relative and absolute.

Post by Mason » Tue May 06, 2008 7:48 am

I was listening to one of Adyashanti's recent satsangs and he said that his teacher often used to say that "you have a better chance of finding water if you dig one well that is 100 feet deep than you would if you dug 100 wells which are each 1 foot deep ...Same amount of work, 100 feet worth of digging, but a better result if you do it all in the same spot" :wink:

In many ways I am new to all this "spiritual" stuff but in my brief survey the spiritual landscape it is my earnest feeling that one of the best places to sink a well might be into that which is pointed at by the words of Sekito Kisen's eighth-century poem "Identity of Relative and Absolute"

Here's the text:

http://www.zenonmain.org/Identity.html
Last edited by Mason on Mon May 19, 2008 8:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mason

Both, and...

Post by Mason » Mon May 12, 2008 1:56 am

In my being, I keep returning to the San do kai over-and-over, so it's only natural to post again. :wink:

Adyashanti gave a sublime lecture about San do kai at his Silent Retreat at Asilomar in Dec 07. He mentioned that the poem is chanted 3 times a day in Zen Monasteries throughout the world.

I am relieved to realize that the world as I imagined it doesn't actually exist, and I appreciate being present and in the now. But wow, what the San do kai points to...

To be attached to things is an illusion;
To encounter the absolute is not yet enlightenment.