Job that requires lots of thinking

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)
SevenSeconds

Job that requires lots of thinking

Post by SevenSeconds » Sun Dec 11, 2011 7:35 pm

What I do for a living requires lots of logical, deep thinking. It's also done on computer for many hours every day.
What do I do? Do I quit?
Someone asked this question to Eckhart. He answered that I may want to quit (as he did), or try to bring enough presence into the job.
I don't really want to quit.
What I am interested in is, is it worth the effort of "bringing in presence"? or it's just gonna hold me back no matter how hard I try?
I mean, if I succeed at being highly present and dissolve painbody associated with the job(lots of stress), am I gonna get tons of benefits out of it?
Can I make this job become a powerful spiritual practice? Or it's all useless and is not worth it?

Kutso

Re: Job that requires lots of thinking

Post by Kutso » Sun Dec 11, 2011 9:21 pm

Thinking is not the problem. Identification with thoughts is.
Not that. Not that. Not that. Not that. Not that. Not that. Not that. Not that.

SevenSeconds

Post by SevenSeconds » Sun Dec 11, 2011 9:58 pm

Kutso wrote:Thinking is not the problem. Identification with thoughts is.
I know that. You totally misunderstood me.

SevenSeconds

Post by SevenSeconds » Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:24 pm

Sorry for not being clear enough. I'm going to write a script of what Eckhart Tolle answered to the question about left-brain type job.
After reading this, read my question again and feel free to ask additional questions.

Woman: Mister Tolle. I find it very difficult to combine learning/studying/actively thinking with no thinking, being present. It's a big dilemma for me.