Is it egotistic to have preferences?

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)
SockMonkey

Is it egotistic to have preferences?

Post by SockMonkey » Sat Sep 21, 2013 4:53 am

You guys, I have a very embarrassing question(s) and it's going to sound juvenile but please bear with me.

I was on a long break from work when I had immersed myself in everything Eckhart Tolle related: his teachings, his guided meditations. I also discovered Adyashanti and Byron Katie in the process. I think eventually through repeated hearings, I was able to sense the inner-peace in me which then eventually deepened as I practiced stillness. Around this time, I was transferred to work with a different team (from the one that I was on), and I can safely say that I attracted these people into my life (and the Universe delivered them). These new coworkers have been so nice, and such a joy to work with, they're worth their weight in gold and made me feel like a valuable employee--something that I didn't really get from my previous team-members. My contract recently ended and is pending renewal. I am very set on wanting to work with this particular team because I gelled so well with these people, but I feel guilty that I prefer this new team over the one I worked with in the past. I'm trying to stay open-minded and not be bias but I just can't shake this feeling off. I find myself thinking "I'd be lying to myself if I wanted to work with anyone else". But then I feel that I'm being egotistical. Is it ego-istic to have preferences?