Seeking Advice From Those That Have Found Truth

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)
donothing

Seeking Advice From Those That Have Found Truth

Post by donothing » Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:47 pm

Hi all,

I’ve been a student of Eckhart Tolle’s teachings for quite some time. I’ve read his books and have been subscribed to his website, eckharttolletv.com for several years. His teachings resonate with me and watching his videos provide a calming effect. However, despite my attempts to use his portals such as feeling the inner body, watching the breath, acceptance, etc I feel like I haven’t come much closer to the truth.

What led me to his teachings initially was this feeling of anxiety that I had throughout my life. There was something about his approach that rang more true than simply replacing the negative thoughts with positive reaffirmations, etc. However, when I use his portals they usually lead to a forced feeling in which I feel less relaxed than if I just let go. Possibly because I’m using them as a means to an end to get rid of the anxiety.

So, over the years I’ve found myself bouncing back-and-forth between different methods to find one that works well for me and leads me to a path deeper within. This has led me to find a few different teachers such as Adyashanti and Mooji. Unfortunately, it’s led to a lot of frustration and little success. Now, quite frustrated with my progress, I’m committed to finding the truth and taking myself out of this current state (I'm thoroughly fed up).

So my question is, for those that have successfully found the truth and are able to abide in it, what technique would you suggest I use? Should I use Adya’s self-inquiry meditation? Should I just accept everything eventhough it brings with it unpleasant feelings and thoughts of death and dying?