Being present while being active, and quality of thoughts.

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)

Being present while being active, and quality of thoughts.

Postby ssdrdw » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:07 pm

Hey , first of all I'm new to this.
I came from a point where I was in my head at least 95% of the time. Got me to feel terrible and have the external symptoms of depression, anxiety (social and not social), ADHD (can barely read anything, watch a movie, listen to people), BPD, Autism, Derealization, chronic fatigue, OCD and what not .
Every little thing in the world, has a huge distorted theory stored in my head, from years of this condition. My thoughts were absolutely retarded.
I came to realise something is psychologically wrong, after trying every possible medical test, and a few prescription pills. Once in a while, I feel like my brain works normally for a short while. I can see how stupid my thoughts and theories are, how bad I feel over nothing, and at that time when my brain works normally I also feel good, relaxed and in the moment. Also I wasn't anything like this as a child.
I've been practicing meditation and mindfulness throughout the day for about a year, with slow progress.
Now I can be in the moment sometimes when meditating or when doing a monotonic activity. But give me the smallest task that requires some use of planning and memory, and to do it properly I have to lose the moment completely, and even then I will do some really stupid mistakes.
I really do know I'm not simply "retarded". I had the best grades in my class in highschool until this thing started, and at those times when my brain works normally I can instinctively feel every kind of manipulation in social situations, be happy, relaxed, in the moment ...