How To Live Beyond the Thinking Mind

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)

How To Live Beyond the Thinking Mind

Postby GirlAloneWithHerself » Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:41 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to Eckhart Tolle, but picked up "Stillness Speaks" the other day to help me tackle my anxiety. The one chapter that struck me was "The Thinking Mind". In particular, I was struck/confused by the concept of going beyond the thinking mind.

If I'm reading the book right, this chapter seems to be suggesting that we shouldn't associate ourselves with our thought processes as they are not what we are. And that actually gave me a little anxiety attack.

If we're not our thought processes, then what are we? I always laboured under the assumption that who we were was firmly rooted in our minds and consciousness. Now, I'm struggling to understand what actually makes up our identity, if it's not our minds.
GirlAloneWithHerself

Re: How To Live Beyond the Thinking Mind

Postby kiki » Sun Dec 06, 2015 5:18 am

Who/what you are is consciousness itself. Thought processes are only concepts appearing IN consciousness, and the ones that make up the "me" you take yourself to be create an illusory self. Those thoughts are only thoughts, they are not your fundamental essential self.

When Tolle tells you to go beyond the thinking mind he is telling you to realize the ever present consciousness in which thoughts appear. Thoughts are always changing, so how can they be you? Consider this: If thoughts are you, which of those countless thoughts is the actual you?