Too young to be conscious?

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)

Too young to be conscious?

Postby Jay07 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:16 pm

Hello,

I apologize if this sounds like a silly question. I was on this forum a few weeks ago, and someone mentioned on an answer that it could be to do with his age why he is finding it hard to be fully conscious and practice presence... The person used an example where Eckhart actually said he would never of been able to be "enlightened" before the age of 30, and that its hard for young people as the ego is so strong.

I am in my early twenties and I've had little experiences where I have managed to reach no-self but I am trying to continuously practice it. I would like to know if you think that younger generations would find it more difficult? Or if it is better to wait?

Would Eckhart still suggest practicing it?

Any replies would be helpful

Thank you
Jay07

Re: Too young to be conscious?

Postby smiileyjen101 » Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:16 am

I have two diametrically opposed answers to this
- one is you cannot put an old head on young shoulders & life experience teaches us best.

The other is if we are eternal beings no one is actually 'young' and we're all here having whatever experiences we're attracted to.

Eckhart actually said he would never of been able to be "enlightened" before the age of 30, and that its hard for young people as the ego is so strong.

This was ET speaking for ET - I've met young ones whose ego is not that strong, and they could have taught older hard heads a lot :wink:

As with all things, take what resonates for you and leave the rest. You may come back to it, you may already be past it....
Our rights start deep within our humanity; they end where another's begin~~ SmileyJen
http://www.balancinginfluences.com
smiileyjen101