The flooding back in of thoughts

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)

The flooding back in of thoughts

Postby Bolgerisdashizz » Wed Oct 12, 2016 10:46 pm

Hi guys,
My name is Chris and im from Ireland. I am somewhat new to this and too the teachings of Eck

I would like to describe my experience and see if you guys can help me out or have had the similar experience. This question has prob come up before from a newbie.

After i meditate i have the feeling of presence and it stays with me for about 2-3 mins then like an overwhelming flood of thoughts tries to rush back in and eventully it does. I lose my state of presence and get wrapped up in thought. Its really annoying i have to say.
Its like a breach in a dam that starts with a little flood, then the whole dam gets swept away with the flood of thoughts that come in.
Does anybody recognize this? And could you please give me some advice on this.

Thank you very much , Chris
Bolgerisdashizz

Re: The flooding back in of thoughts

Postby rachMiel » Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:36 pm

Welcome to the forum, Chris.

1. What you are experiencing is so common as to be just about universal. So you're in good company!

2. My guess is what's happening is: Your I/ego, which has a mind of its own, gets angry and frightened at not being captain of the ship (ego is dethroned in presence), so it rushes back in to "set things right." You experience this as a flood of thoughts.

3. The fix? Keep at it, the ego/I will eventually calm down. And in the meantime if the thoughts come rushing back in, just sit back and let them do their thing, without giving them power or attention. (Easier said than done, but doable.) Visualize them as a train rushing by, but don't climb aboard. And keep your eyes on the prize: to know/feel/be the real you (Self).
“At the still point of the turning world.” T. S. Eliot