Worrying About The Future

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)

Worrying About The Future

Postby michal » Thu May 05, 2005 9:20 pm

I have a job interview on Sunday, and I'm really nervous about it. I keep thinking about how it might be, and especially how I will fail at it.

"You're not good enough."
"You will be too nervous to answer anything coherently."
"They'll hate you."
"You will fail, FAIL I say!"

Those are about the repetitive thoughts that are going through my head.

I have this tendency to be nervous about something new, because I don't know what to expect and I have no experience/tools at how to handle it. I get all insecure and pessimistic, and my stomach is doing flip-flops, making me physically miserable.

I noticed, in the past couple of days that I've been nervous, that at times I'd get this aggressive boost of confidence that basically shoos my worries away, or does a pretty good job at keeping them at bay. But it doesn't last long, and, obviously, when I get caught up in my thoughts it only gets worse.

My pain-body is partying, and I'm a little at a loss.

What should I do? :?
michal

Re: Worrying About The Future

Postby Sandy » Fri May 06, 2005 5:12 am

michal wrote:I have a job interview on Sunday, and I'm really nervous about it. I keep thinking about how it might be, and especially how I will fail at it.

I noticed, in the past couple of days that I've been nervous, that at times I'd get this aggressive boost of confidence that basically shoos my worries away, or does a pretty good job at keeping them at bay. But it doesn't last long, and, obviously, when I get caught up in my thoughts it only gets worse.

What should I do? :?