Awareness vs. Brain

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)

Awareness vs. Brain

Postby Glycine » Thu Dec 04, 2008 5:56 pm

Hello all,

I have read “A New Earth” two times, and I have browsed this wonderful forum for a few days.
I can feel the transformative power of becoming aware and present, at least from time to time.
I am much calmer than in the past. Definitely, I see the world with different “eyes” now, and it appears to be non-reversible.

However, at the present moment, the main “issue” that I’m fighting with is the feeling that awareness is simply generated by the brain. :?

I’m wondering what others feel about this. Has anyone had an “experience” showing that awareness doesn’t need the brain? :?:

(I apologize if this is an irrational question – I am only a beginner in nondualism and ET).
Thank you!
Glycine

Re: Awareness vs. Brain

Postby heidi » Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:54 pm

That's a paradox since when we discuss awakening we need our brains to do so. And when we have enjoyed no thought, presence, our brains remember it. When the exquisite joy of awareness is experienced, then the brain has a tendency to step in and think - Wow! this is great, I want more of that joy, aliveness and peace, hence we tend to put ourselves in situations where we have been in no thought such as meditation and communing with nature. Awareness is generated by awareness, transcending the brain to awareness of our true essence - which is awareness.
Welcome to the forum. :)
Heidi
http://www.heidimayo.com
wonderment on the third wave
heidi

Postby bjornclausen » Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:04 am

Hi Glycine!
If awareness had no existence outside the brain, why would that be a problem?