Insomnia

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)
colinw

Insomnia

Post by colinw » Wed May 20, 2009 9:05 am

Hi everyone

Has anyone else experienced problems with insomnia? It has dogged me seriously for many years (after a period of anxiety and depression), and continues to make my nights difficult. I've tried many different remedies over the years, but none has really worked. I wonder if anyone has any suggestions on how to approach insomnia from the point of view of Presence - how to bring some of Tolle's teachings into my experience of it? Perhaps inner body awareness, and trying to convert it into something positive? I'm still quite new to Tolle's work (just finishing A New Earth!), so still finding my way around his ideas.

Thanks, and hope everyone is happy and well! This is a great forum.

Colin

pieutr

Re: Insomnia

Post by pieutr » Wed May 20, 2009 11:57 am

Hello Colin,

I am glad to bring you my contribution on this question.
Has anyone else experienced problems with insomnia?
I did. When I was young I used to have insomnia until a certain time I remember well. My mother came into the room to say goodnight to me. I told her I didn't want to have an insomnia again, and that I was annoyed with this because I thought it was going to make me tired the day after, and so on. My mother then just told me (and after she told me that, I haven't had any insomnia anymore) that if I didn't fall asleep, it was because my body didn't need to rest.
I've tried many different remedies over the years, but none has really worked