Are Eckhart's teachings practical in living in society?

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)
I AM

Are Eckhart's teachings practical in living in society?

Post by I AM » Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:53 am

I have been practising presence for about 4 years now and I became very different from "normal" people. Over the past 3 years, I got fired from work, was told to leave my living space in a violent way. Despite all those experiences, I still want to live in the now, say yes to what is. Deep down I do trust in life. I just don't know why things happened that way. I just want a quiet living space to meditate sometimes, but people and things didn't seem to be very accommodating up to now. Yes, I do have a question mark in my mind. Why is this? Deep down, I agree with Eckhart's teachings 100%. I don't mind dying. What is more important than dealth is to be peaceful in life. I would like to hear other people's experiences practising presence in our human society. Thank you.

Sighclone

Re: Are Eckhart's teachings practical in living in society?

Post by Sighclone » Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:15 am

Four years of disorientation seems like a long time. Mine was about six months. It is possible to act from fully conscious Presence and perform well. However, office politics might become a strain....

Andy
A person is not a thing or a process, but an opening through which the universe manifests. - Martin Heidegger
There is not past, no future; everything flows in an eternal present. - James Joyce

karmarider

Post by karmarider » Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:49 am

There were two and half years of disorientation. Internal turmoil, high activity, apathy, anxiety...other stuff. External life is shaken up like yours. Sometimes there is inconvenience, sometimes annoyance at the inconvenience. It's all good.

Onceler

Post by Onceler » Fri Nov 06, 2009 1:13 pm