How Can I Know What I Came Here on Earth For? ?

This is the place to post whatever questions you have related to the teachings of Eckhart Tolle. The rest of us will do whatever we can to help you achieve a better understanding :)
balancee

How Can I Know What I Came Here on Earth For? ?

Post by balancee » Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:42 pm

Hi all
I'm a 29 years old women...and it's been now 6 months or even more that I feel confused about my future. I don't know anymore what my future will be like. Life is showing me that I need to follow it and go with its flow, but this is hard for me as I'm used to have total control over myself and life and make things according to my wishes and wants. But now I feel powerless and I know only one thing for sure: that I know nothing ...!
I'm a journalist and now I'm studying psychology if this help to answer to my topic.

ps: even if I know nothing now, I have sometimes this deep feeling that everything is all right and I just need to go with the flow...(but I'm so impatient and I'm always used to control life, when in fact now I know I cant do this, as life cant be a thing a own...!IT is more and more than that.

Moderator Note: Please read forum rules before further posting - especially those concerning capitalization and punctuation.

tod

Re: How Can I Know What I Came Here on Earth For? ?

Post by tod » Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:30 am

I think I 'came to Earth' to get grounded, to get all the ideas as to what I am ground from me via experience. Perhaps this could be called 'coming to earth' :)

spikyface

Post by spikyface » Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:20 am

I lived as you did for many years, the desire for control was an almost electrical buzzing in the back of my head, like an energy driving you to DO as much as possible, to make progress, to get to the next level

The best advice I can think of is this:

Don't look for what your overall life purpose might be in the future, look for what your life purpose is now