Witness to Violence & Repression

Topics related to physical, emotional and psychological forms of pain and suffering

Witness to Violence & Repression

Postby maite » Sun Nov 18, 2012 3:50 pm

Hello. I have been studying the work of Eckhart Tolle since 2009. Right now I am faced with a situation I am not sure how to cope with.

I live in Spain, which many of you know is undergoing turmoil due to the crisis. Last Wednesday, that reached a violent peak during a nation-wide general strike. There was a protest in my city that evening and the crowd, as usual, had gathered in a plaza afterwards to listen to a speaker. Suddenly, without warning, riot cops swarmed in and started beating people. Young, old, familes....it was an awful sight to behold. I was also attacked by three police and beaten with a baton over my arms, legs, and back. A friend was left bloodied and will have to remain flat on his back for a month to prevent further damage to his eye.

This sudden attack spawned a counter-attack from the crowd, who threw bricks, glass, etc. The police then brought out rubber bullets. This was all in a small city that has never seen violence on it's streets.

The newspapers lied about the incident, and the police have made it clear that they will retaliate against people who speak out (they threatened people on the scene who were taking photos/videos). Two friends were taken to jail on false charges (one was not even present, they arrested him the next day for allegedly inciting people to riot) and are facing sentences of 5 and 7 years, respectively.

I know I cannot get stuck in the victim mentality and negativity. My question is: should I continue to be involved in political issues? Should I participate in the struggle for peace and justice? This incident makes me feel hopeless and want to drop out of all of this; on the other hand, seeing innocent people suffering makes me want to help, but how? I would appreciate any thoughts on how to move on from here.

Thank you.