Feeling hopeless

Topics related to physical, emotional and psychological forms of pain and suffering

Feeling hopeless

Postby invierno » Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:53 am

Hello All,
This is my first post on this board. I read A New Earth a few months ago after some intense changes in my life forced me to seek help. This is going to be a very long post so I apologize in advance. I am so desperate to talk to someone about what I'm going through and I would be grateful for some insight.

This is my current life situation: I'm 31 years old and have suffered depression for most of my life. My live-in partner recently ended our relationship just as I was graduating from college (I was an older student). I've been unemployed for several months and face insurmountable debt from student loans. I made the decision to temporarily move back in with my parents for financial reasons. This would be fine except for the fact that my mother's lifestyle is seriously wreaking havoc on my sanity.

Here's a little backstory: About 7 years ago, my mother's therapist encouraged her to quit her job because she was miserable, she was in her early fifties at the time and had been heavily medicated for depression, borderline personality disorder and other health problems. At this time, she basically "gave up" on life, and now identifies completely with her depression. She spends most of the day chain-smoking and eating junk food in front of the television with the curtains closed. She rarely showers, rarely leaves the house (save for doctors appointments once every few months,) and is totally sedentary.