I know it can't be lost but I feel I lost it

Topics related to physical, emotional and psychological forms of pain and suffering

I know it can't be lost but I feel I lost it

Postby artista » Mon May 23, 2011 2:59 pm

...what? Presence. Stillness. Inner peace.
I know. It's here, always. But I don't feel it these days.
I discovered Tolle's work few years ago while dealing with anxiety and some big issues in my life and it helped me a lot. I discovered peace and serenity within me and thought it would never go away. Anxiety and extreme tension came again recently triggered with my father's death few months ago, along with my constant isolation from people (at home with 2 small kids) and recently diagnosed problem with my eye (I very hardly accept it, I'm an illustrator and this affects my work and perception a lot).
I feel too much, I think too much, analyze too much, judge too much, I'm hard on myself. It's all my inner struggle, and I wonder why does it have to be that way. I really want to be gentle towards myself, but don't know how anymore. Psychologist I went to few years ago (Cognitive Behavioral therapy) told me I am one of the most "normal" people she counsels (because I kept repeating I think I'm going crazy :) and that I am "very introspective, maybe too much." Speaking of introspection - my problem is that I feel everything very "physical", every negative thought or feeling reflects in my body as a physical discomfort. So it's no wonder I often have headaches or feel very tired. And I feel great resistance towards it (yes, it makes it even worst). Like I control myself constantly...which is totally opposite of being present.