Dalai Lama/Spritual Teachers money/possessions

Is he enlightened? Why does he charge so much money? Does he have an ego? All these unimportant issues and more =)

Dalai Lama/Spritual Teachers money/possessions

Postby SatisfiedOne » Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:25 am

Dalai Lama simply gives his money away and seems to be satisfied with his few meager possessions. I'm not sure about Eckhart or others.

I am only a school teacher with a modest income and my wife is the same, but we seem to keep so much and give away so little. Our charitable contributions come only after we/I have what I want. I'm not sure how to feel about this.

I suppose many awakened beings, teachers and otherwise have possessions beyond need, but when is one being drawn into the world of egoic desire? Is okay to get a new car, bigger house, larger television, faster computer when you "want" one?
SatisfiedOne

Re: Dalai Lama/Spritual Teachers money/possessions

Postby DWBH1953 » Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:54 am

SatisfiedOne wrote:Dalai Lama simply gives his money away and seems to be satisfied with his few meager possessions. I'm not sure about Eckhart or others.

I am only a school teacher with a modest income and my wife is the same, but we seem to keep so much and give away so little. Our charitable contributions come only after we/I have what I want. I'm not sure how to feel about this.

I suppose many awakened beings, teachers and otherwise have possessions beyond need, but when is one being drawn into the world of egoic desire? Is okay to get a new car, bigger house, larger television, faster computer when you "want" one?

You will probably get a lot of responses to your post.
I can tell you ET, Ayda ,Gangaji and a few others are very wealthy people when folks have best sellers, go on Oprah etc your talking wealthy not just rich.
I would also like to think that they are also very charitable beings.
The other thing is everyone is not a Dalai Lama.

This has been a hot button for me for a long time.