My Life : A Disaster

Here you may share how the words Eckhart Tolle have affected your life.

My Life : A Disaster

Postby rideforever » Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:50 am

Work

I started a job again a few weeks back, I work in IT and this place is a little e-learning agency near me - there are quite a lot of women here which is unusual for IT companies, and pretty friendly and happy I would say.

Anyway I have the same reaction as I always do, I feel like a complete outsider. I am sure I hide it well, but inside I really don't relate to the people much.

Yesterday the CEO came and gave everyone a pep talk about how even though they were being taken over they probably wouldn't lose their jobs. Hmm. And lots of talk about "we are all one", and "we really value you". He was a nice guy, but that's not really what business is about - they might actually lose their jobs, that's the reality ... happens all the time.

Anyway, the people seem nice but ... they are very wrapped up in the usual things, work, families, relationships. I am not really that interested in these things. They want to 'go for a drink' en-masse after work. I don't. I couldn't think of anything worse then being in a small room with 30 drunk people all being drunk and talking sh*t. If I went I would feel pressure to be like them, but I don't feel like that.

I would prefer playing my flute, or going dancing, or going to a Kirtan ... but drinking with lots of people in a small room - it's like prison.

I wonder sometimes if I am being judgemental or unkind to these people. They are just normal people. Is there something I don't understand about them ... is there something I could fix to be like them. But, in truth I just can't see it ... even if I fixed everything why should I get drunk - I don't want to escape my life, I want to move into reality - it's the other direction isn't it ?

I just don't want to feel pressured / hated for not going along with their gee-up.