Rough day...

Here you may share how the words Eckhart Tolle have affected your life.

Rough day...

Postby treasuretheday » Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:05 pm

I've been working as a volunteer chaplain at a hospital for a few years. This "job" almost didn't happen. The volunteer director told me when I showed up that they did not allow volunteers to work in this capacity. I told her that I had professional training, that I had done this work in a paid position in another state full time. She said that didn't matter. So...I immediately left her office & walked over to the Chaplain's office. I asked the secretary if I could speak with him. It so happened that he had an opening, so I was able to meet with him on the spot.

I explained that I wanted to work as a volunteer, that I had completed both internship & residency programs in chaplaincy, had x hours of seminary education, an "A" average in all coursework, & excellent evaluations from my supervisors (I had copies of these evaluations with me, along with proof of all stated credentials). Told him that I'd worked in a very rigorous environment, in a Level I Trauma Center, did over-night-on-call duty, etc. I look petite & "delicate," so wanted to convey that I have stamina & work hard! He said that he was impressed & would love to have my help. He talked to the Volunteer Director, & I was able to start the following week.

Fast forward three years later. I love working with the patients, but the Chaplain & I have no chemistry. I asked him from the start to please let me know of continuing education events, good books, etc. He doesn't. He keeps me at arm's length, engages in minimal conversation with me. Just "reports" facts about patients, really. It's disappointing. I enjoyed great rapport with the many clergy people I worked with previously. Had warm, generous, enthusiastic mentors.