working with my pain body

Here you may share how the words Eckhart Tolle have affected your life.

working with my pain body

Postby jungblood » Wed May 14, 2014 4:35 am

hello friends,

I've just joined for the forum, having recently re-read 'The Power of Now'. Im a practicing zen buddhist (whatever that means), but I was drawn back to Eckhart's teachings because I find that the language he uses, and the simple but subtle explanation of how our consciousness works, is extremely powerful.. In zen we put a lot of emphasis on just being present, mindful of the here and now, without judgment... ostensibly that's pretty much in keeping with what Eckhart teaches, but I think his use of the concept of the 'pain body' is very helpful... I have been meditating for a few years, and I think I've made some progress, but as a recovering addict I have to acknowledge that my pain body is pretty strong at times... sometimes trying to just be mindful without any judgment can be challenging, because for someone with a strong pain body, being present can feel pretty uncomfortable... somehow the language of 'being with the pain body', and allowing it to be, helps me to just stay present - it's as if i'm taking a positive decision to accept the pain inside, and stay with it, rather than just watching it without any expectation or purpose - it's a subtle difference, but an important one... this more positive approach - where I accept that I am dealing with something uncomfortable, rather than just being with a completely neutral 'here and now', helps me to stay with the pain body until it ebbs away... it has been extremely helpful to my meditation practice..