Struggling with surrendering

Here you may share how the words Eckhart Tolle have affected your life.

Struggling with surrendering

Postby costello » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:24 pm

Hi:

I'm new to this forum, so forgive me if I've put this in the wrong area. I'm also new to Eckhart Tolle, so I may not have all his vocabulary down quite right.

I'm currently struggling with a situation which is a source of great stress for me but which I can see could be helpful in my spiritual growth if I can figure out how to work with it. I dislike a lot of noise, and I've chosen both a career and a home with that in mind. I've lived in my home for 17 1/2 years. I'm buying it. Nearly two years ago some very noisy people moved in next door to me. At first in was a dog which barked at me every time I walked out of my house. After a year or so, the dog disappeared. Now their teenaged son and his friends are riding four wheelers and dirt bikes up and down the street, around their house, behind my house, etc. - sometimes for hours on end.

I've explored ways of ending the noise. Talking to them doesn't work. The police refuse to help. I'm not prepared to go to the expense and hassle of litigation. Currently I'm looking into moving to my mother's house which has both positive and negative sides to it. It does help, however, to know that I have an "out," that I'm not stuck in this situation.

Anyway, I can see how I'm contributing to my own suffering in this situation. The noise itself is very stressful, but I do think the angry stories I tell myself about it probably cause ten times more suffering than the noise. And yet I can't seem to help myself. I was listening to Stillness Speaks as I drove home yesterday - the section on surrender. It all sounds so nice when there's nothing really hard to surrender to, but as soon as that four wheeler started up, I felt a surge of anger.