A bit lost after reading Power of Now etc

Here you may share how the words Eckhart Tolle have affected your life.

A bit lost after reading Power of Now etc

Postby lostintheuk » Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:45 pm

Hey I'm pretty new to all of this, but have been reading Eckhart Tolle and other books by Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj and Ramana Maharshi.

As a small bit of backstory, I have always fully identified with mind, would be constantly be thinking and had a huge ego in relation to intelligence. I had bad social anxiety and felt a lot of expectation from society and parents re career.

A year ago I decided to focus on "self-improvement" and focused on body language and dress sense etc. I went back to uni for a different course. Superficially it was helpful but I realised I was still in the same boat but with better clothes haha.

After this realisation I read these books and came to understand that my year of self-improvement created an even bigger ego and everything that I did was for a desired result, which never quenched the thirst for more.

I understand now the futility of desire and fear but as I'm just starting I feel quite lost and a bit apathetic. I get fleeting feelings of the isness of everything but a lot of the time I feel empty and am starting to isolate myself because I know the outer world won't make me happy/ give me peace.

I saw another post about this but would like to hear further people who have felt like this and how you kept a balance when you realised the inner should be your primary reality rather than the ego chasing the outer.

Cheers!
lostintheuk

Re: A bit lost after reading Power of Now etc

Postby Webwanderer » Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:45 pm