I feel free

Here you may share how the words Eckhart Tolle have affected your life.

I feel free

Postby Lee28 » Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:28 pm

I am new to Eckhart Tolle teachings. In fact I am reading "the new earth" for the first time. I have been reading it for one month now and nearly finished, I have not read any of his other works yet. But plan to do so. I have just ordered an audio cd.

I have always been searching for who I am, who I should be. Always in deep thought, pondering and thinking about anything and everything.

I remember when I was eleven years old, I always new there was something more to the world, more to me but I did not know what. I had just finished rugby training waiting for my dad to pick me up. I was caught up in the usual chattering and distorted emotions of my pain body to notice anything going on around me when suddenly I caught a glimpse of the stars in the sky but more profound and overwhelming to me was the deepness of space. I had never realized this before and did not understand back then either, my sense of being. I had an urge to close my eyes, I felt the cold breeze against me and felt nothing but complete satisfaction and a sense of great happiness, for a second there was no thought, looking back I now realise the ego and my pain body had dissipated but for a second. Then the beep of a horn pulled me back into the madness and I jumped into my dads car to let what had happened become just another memory.

it wasn't till years later that I started to crave to know who I am, a need, a longing to search for happiness so I could relieve myself from the pain I would every so often feel. when I was eighteen I racked up a load of dept with compulsive spending only to find that I always wanted more and often drank too much and played the different roles in front of my piers and to the rest of society when needed, often wishing I was someone else.