Gnostic Christianity

Talk about anything Tolle-related here.

Gnostic Christianity

Postby yougarksooo » Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:43 am

I'm no expert but what I have heard of Gnostic Christianity or (Esoteric christianity or inner Christianity) makes sense spiritually. Tolle opened my mind to Jesus' teachings but I've had trouble digesting some of the teachings of the Orthodox church.

Gnostic Christianity is really a term which covers a wide and varied group of Christians which flourished during and right after Jesus' life. Some had their own Gospels, which never made it into the bible. Some of these gospels were discovered buried in Egypt in the 20th Centurty.

The Orthodox Christian Church had its reasons for wanting a centralized, universal religion. The hierarchy of God, Jesus, etc was mirrored in the Orthodox Church as Pope, bishop, priest etc. There was also the belief that people could only find Jesus by coming to church.

The Gnostics challenged this idea. Again they believed you find God inside. They looked at the Orthodox hierarchy as ego based. So, they would name a different person as "bishop" each time they met. They believed in total equality in that way. Needless to say, the Orthodox church labeled them "heretics" and discounted their experience. Yet when I read Tolle's teachings, they are more aligned with some aspects of Gnostic Christianity than even with Buddhism.

The Gnostics believed you come to spiritual knowledge inside, not through Jesus or the church. Some saw Jesus as a divine being, others as an enlightened being. The Gnostics seemed to be well aware way back then of the "true I." Knowing yourself is Gnosis. Not knowing in terms of facts, but who you really are beyond the things of the world. Stated another way, Gnosis is integrating the false self into the true self, such that you become a fully integrated being.