Milton's Secret

Talk about anything Tolle-related here.
Sw A Devagni

Milton's Secret

Post by Sw A Devagni » Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:34 am

Dear all,

Just previewed this book on Amazon and on about the fourth page, there's a mistake!

It is 'a recess', and should read 'at recess'.

I am an editor, true, but I thought Eckart would have gone through this and checked with his eagle-eyed awareness! (or does that say something about his awareness or his capacity to hold it?)

Anyway, happens to all of us...

Dev

lucy

Re: Milton's Secret

Post by lucy » Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:15 pm

The Awareness that ET is pointing to is the all encompassing "Seeing" that is your true nature, it has nothing to do with making typos or mistake relative world.

Sw A Devagni

Post by Sw A Devagni » Fri Jul 03, 2009 11:22 am

Well, you know that's not true.

As Genpo Roshi would say (a great Zen master) there is no point practising if you don't at least make an effort to carry it into the world.

Now I'm not saying (I was being slightly facetious) that Eckhart doesn't embody his awareness. He clearly does (or seems to) in quite extraordinary ways.

But I disagree with your statement that Pure Awareness simply has nothing to do with the relative world.

Emptiness is Form; Form is Emptiness.

That's to say, the awareness that you are right now, is not separate from this world (how could it be) as if it is all things and gives rise to all things, it cannot be separate.

Now, as Human Beings (and I capitalize for a reason), we have two aspects to us (and this is Genpo Roshi's work - http://www.bigmind.org), namely the Human and the Being side.

Think of a triangle (an equilateral triangle pointing upwards). On one base of the triangle, we have what we could call the Human side of us (competitiveness, anger, desire, seeking, ambition, etc). None of these are 'wrong' in themselves.