Presence and Resumes

Talk about anything Tolle-related here.
HowToKnowGod

Presence and Resumes

Post by HowToKnowGod » Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:05 pm

I'm applying for jobs these days. I find it strange that in order for someone to hire me, my past becomes so important. I almost want to tell people that the past is unimportant, only the presence is. I'm quite sure that will get my resume thrown in the garbage at best.

I've got lots of good grades from past education. I've got some fairly good work experience. I don't want to cheat myself by disregarding that, yet at the same time, the more attention I give those things, the more I get identified with something that is not me. It could get dangerous.

Just an observation.

Ananda

Re: Presence and Resumes

Post by Ananda » Sat Aug 08, 2009 9:02 pm

Well, play the game, or don't play the game, it's completely up to you!

the more I get identified with something that is not me. It could get dangerous
Give no heed to this at all, this is just an idea. It's impossible.

Peaceman

Post by Peaceman » Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:38 pm

I think when it comes to interviews etc if you are fully Present in the moment the Past will dissolve into the moment and you will do just fine!!

Sighclone

Post by Sighclone » Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:57 am

Great thread. Presence can be a bit unnerving to unconscious people, especially some interviewers. Of course, the Source that they are will sense it, but egos will be threatened. Wear it gently until you sense that you are comfortable. Stay on topics which demonstrate how you can help them...ask questions about their specific work-related tasks, and talk about your skills...presence will sneak around the edges.

Andy
A person is not a thing or a process, but an opening through which the universe manifests. - Martin Heidegger
There is not past, no future; everything flows in an eternal present. - James Joyce

HowToKnowGod

Post by HowToKnowGod » Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:46 am