Help for a Beginner?

Talk about anything Tolle-related here.

Help for a Beginner?

Postby streetparade2000 » Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:58 am

Hi All

I'm pretty new to Eckhart's work I read The Power of Now a while back and have just read Practising the Power of Now. Can anyone help me with a fundemental problem I'm struggling with? I've tried to be as clear as possible. Hope it makes sense.

When i am trying to stay present I can see and am aware of 'the thinker' and its constant stream of chatter, and I can also feel my greater presence, which I guess is good. However, part of me is encouraging this process by saying things like: 'There's the thinker, just ignore it - don't judge.' 'Stay present.' 'There's the silent watcher.' Along with other encouraging responses. These thoughts are not constant - just enabling.

I'm confused though - are these thoughts coming from 'my thinker' or is it something greater? I'm pretty sure it's 'the thinker' and if so are these thoughts acceptable, as they really are or appear to be facilitating the process of my practising of prescence.

thanks
streetparade2000

Postby heidi » Tue Jan 04, 2005 1:17 am

I think they're coming from your consciousness :wink:
Heidi
http://www.heidimayo.com
wonderment on the third wave
heidi

Non-judgmental stance

Postby BillyPLed » Tue Jan 04, 2005 1:38 am

I would encourage you to not judge your thoughts as "good or bad." You ask if they are "acceptable." I would think that the thoughts can be accepted as thoughts. Part of my problem is that I often get resistant or frustrated when I think I am not "practicing right." Eckhart seems to be encouraging us to take a non-judgmental, accepting, non-resistant stance. He has even written in The Power of Now that we can accept our non-acceptance. It could be that as you continue you will find that the inner voice that is encouraging you gets quieter.
Billy in Lousiana
BillyPLed

Postby kiki » Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:58 am